Regulatory News

A bloc of countries led by Japan, Norway and Iceland prevented the creation of a sanctuary for whales that would have included all of the South Atlantic, which would ban the hunting of these mammals. The veto occurred during the International Whaling Commission meeting in Panama, which brought together representatives of 89 countries and ended last week.

The South Atlantic Ocean would have been the third to house a whale sanctuary - the others being the Indian Ocean and the Antarctic. During the meeting, only countries that pay a fee are entitled to vote. Japan is accused by environmentalists of financing the entry of poorer nations to protect their interests.

© 2007 CRE Brazil - All Rights Reserved.