Regulatory News

Eleven Latin American countries signed an agreement during a meeting in Montevideo, Uruguay, to jointly promote whale watching tourism. The group is comprised of Brazil, Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Ecuador, Colombia, Peru, Panama, Costa Rica, Mexico and the Dominican Republic.

"We want to see what the best ideas are for responsible tourism, how to create a route and to implement conservation strategies at the regional level," said Barbara Galletti, representative of Chile at the International Whaling Commission (IWC).

Since 2005, Latin American countries have proposed the creation of a whale sanctuary in the South Atlantic.

© 2007 CRE Brazil - All Rights Reserved.